
Two labs run the same 150-nit browsing test on Chromebooks and land within minutes of each other on shared models. Swap the test and one laptop swings by almost six hours. This Chromebook battery life comparison lines up tested runtimes against manufacturer ratings, pulls results from Tom’s Guide, Laptop Mag, PCWorld, IT Pro and Notebookcheck, and marks which figures can sit in the same table.
Chromebook Battery Life Comparison: The Headline Numbers
Chromebook Battery Life Comparison By Model On One Test
Tom’s Guide sets the display to 150 nits and browses the web over Wi-Fi until the machine dies. Seven ChromeOS laptops have runtimes published under that method, spanning 7 hours 26 minutes to 14 hours 54 minutes.
The two MediaTek Kompanio Ultra 910 machines take the top two slots and are the only ones past 13 hours. Below them sit five Intel parts inside a narrow band, and the $269 Celeron finishes 50 minutes behind the $399 Core i5-1235U.
| Chromebook | Processor | Tested runtime | List price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acer Chromebook Plus Spin 514 | MediaTek Kompanio Ultra 910 | 14:54 | From $699 |
| Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 | MediaTek Kompanio Ultra 910 | 13:19 | $649 |
| Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus | Intel Core i3 100U | 11:09 | $700 |
| Lenovo Chromebook Plus 2-in-1 Gen 10 | Intel Core 3 | 08:32 | Around $400 |
| Acer Chromebook Plus 515 | Intel Core i5-1235U | 08:16 | $399 |
| Lenovo Chromebook Plus 15I TN10 | Intel Core 3 N355 | 08:05 | $579 |
| Asus Chromebook CX15 | Intel Celeron N4500 | 07:26 | $269 |
Source: Tom’s Guide, 150-nit continuous Wi-Fi web browsing test; best Chromebooks guide updated 25 August 2026, Spin 514 review 3 September 2025, Chromebook Plus 15I TN10 review 5 July 2026.
Silicon architecture separates the field here. Intel tier does not: a Celeron, two Core 3 chips and a Core i5 all land between 7 hours 26 minutes and 8 hours 32 minutes.
Tom’s Guide called the 15I TN10’s 8 hour 5 minute result close to unacceptable for a $579 laptop in 2026. Buyers weighing that against fleet economics will find the deployment picture in these Chromebook enterprise deployment figures, while retail demand is tracked in data on which Chromebook models actually sell.
How Do Rated Hours Compare To Tested Chromebook Battery Life?
Manufacturers publish their own numbers under their own conditions, so a rated figure and a lab figure are not the same measurement. Placed side by side, both current Kompanio Ultra 910 machines carry a 17-hour claim and neither reaches it under 150-nit browsing.
| Chromebook | Manufacturer claim | Lab result | Lab test used |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acer Chromebook Plus Spin 514 | Up to 17:00 | 14:54 | 150-nit Wi-Fi browsing |
| Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 | Around 17:00 | 13:19 | 150-nit Wi-Fi browsing |
| Acer Chromebook 516 GE | 06:49 to 07:45 | 07:40 | Mixed web browsing |
Source: Acer newsroom, 3 September 2025 (Spin 514); Lenovo figure as reported by PCWorld, June 2025; Acer Wi-Fi browsing range and 516 GE result from Tom’s Guide, May 2023. Lab results from Tom’s Guide.
The 516 GE is the one that matched, and it matched because Acer published a browsing-specific range rather than a headline hour count. Its result landed at the top of that range.
Acer’s 17-hour claim and Lenovo’s carry no test description in the announcement text. That is the gap: a browsing test holds the panel at a fixed output and never idles, and vendor conditions are not stated.
Chromebook Battery Life Comparison Across Different Tests
One machine, one 60 Wh battery, four published numbers. The Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 has been measured by three outlets on three methods, and the results run from 13 hours 19 minutes to 19 hours.
| Test | Conditions | Result |
|---|---|---|
| PCWorld, CrXPRT 2 battery benchmark | Brightness turned down | 19:00 |
| Lenovo rated specification | Not stated | 17:00 |
| IT Pro, video playback | Screen at 170 cd/m² | 14:37 |
| Tom’s Guide, web browsing | Screen at 150 nits, Wi-Fi | 13:19 |
Source: PCWorld review, June 2025; Lenovo specification via PCWorld, June 2025; IT Pro review, September 2025; Tom’s Guide review, August 2025. All figures for the Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 (14M9610).
CrXPRT 2 cycles scripted productivity tasks with idle gaps, and PCWorld ran it with the screen dimmed. The 150-nit browsing test does neither, which is why it sits at the bottom.
Comparing a CrXPRT number against a 150-nit number is the most common source of contradictory Chromebook claims. Check which test produced a figure before ranking anything by it.
Do Two Labs Produce The Same Chromebook Battery Life Numbers?
They do when the method matches. Tom’s Guide and Laptop Mag both browse the web at 150 nits, and on the two Chromebooks both have tested, the results land within five minutes.
Laptop Mag recorded 11 hours 12 minutes for the Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus against Tom’s Guide’s 11 hours 9 minutes. On the Acer Chromebook Plus 515 the split is 8 hours 21 minutes to 8 hours 16 minutes.
Laptop Mag’s 150-nit results
Laptop Mag also publishes a category average alongside each review, which gives a reference line the individual models can be read against.
| Chromebook | Tested runtime |
|---|---|
| Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus | 11:12 |
| Asus Chromebook CM14 Flip | 10:14 |
| Chromebook category average | 09:56 |
| HP Chromebook Plus 14a | 08:50 |
| Acer Chromebook Plus 515 | 08:21 |
Source: Laptop Mag, 150-nit continuous Wi-Fi web browsing test, Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus review, November 2024.
What Moves Chromebook Battery Life More Than The Battery Does?
Capacity predicts less than the panel and the settings. Notebookcheck measured the Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus at around 13 hours web surfing with brightness normalised to 150 cd/m² and the keyboard backlight off, then around 5 hours in everyday use with the backlight on.
That is one 68 Wh machine and one review. The Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 carries a smaller 60 Wh cell and drew 2.95 W at minimum idle and 6.92 W at minimum load in the same lab.
Source: Notebookcheck, Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus review, May 2025; Notebookcheck, Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 review, 24 August 2025.
Workload matters too. Enabling the Debian container to install Linux on a Chromebook adds a load no vendor rating accounts for, and neither does running Steam through Borealis.
None of the tests above measure how the device is used day to day. For context on who is running what, see the Crostini adoption estimates and the K-12 purchasing data.
Chromebook Battery Life Comparison: What The Data Supports
A single method produces a tight, repeatable ranking. The Kompanio Ultra 910 machines lead it, and the Intel field below them is compressed into roughly one hour.
Across methods, the same laptop can return 13 hours or 19 hours. Vendor ratings sit inside that range rather than above it, which makes a rated hour count a description of an unnamed test rather than a promise.
Chromebooks are still a small slice of desktop web traffic. The ChromeOS share by country and the wider Chromebook versus Windows shipment figures put these seven machines in proportion.
FAQs
Which Chromebook has the longest tested battery life?
The Acer Chromebook Plus Spin 514 ran 14 hours 54 minutes on Tom’s Guide’s 150-nit web browsing test, the highest figure in that lab’s published Chromebook set. The Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 follows at 13 hours 19 minutes.
How long does a Chromebook last on a single charge?
Laptop Mag puts the Chromebook category average at 9 hours 56 minutes on its 150-nit continuous web browsing test, stated in its November 2024 Samsung Galaxy Chromebook Plus review. Individual results in that lab ranged from 8 hours 21 minutes upward.
Do Chromebooks really last 17 hours?
Not on browsing tests. Acer rates the Chromebook Plus Spin 514 at up to 17 hours and Tom’s Guide measured 14 hours 54 minutes. Lenovo’s 17-hour Chromebook Plus 14 returned 13 hours 19 minutes on the same test.
Is Chromebook battery life as good as Reddit threads claim?
Reddit reports are unmeasured and use unknown brightness settings. Lab figures for the same laptop range from 13 hours 19 minutes at 150 nits to 19 hours on CrXPRT 2 with brightness reduced, so both high and low anecdotes can be accurate.
Why do battery numbers for one Chromebook differ so much?
Different tests. PCWorld’s CrXPRT 2 run includes idle gaps and a dimmed screen; Tom’s Guide holds the panel at 150 nits and browses continuously. On the Lenovo Chromebook Plus 14 that produced 19 hours versus 13 hours 19 minutes.
Sources
https://www.tomsguide.com/best-picks/best-chromebooks
https://www.laptopmag.com/laptops/chromebooks/samsung-galaxy-chromebook-plus-review
https://www.pcworld.com/article/2829854/lenovo-chromebook-plus-14-review.html
https://news.acer.com/acer-chromebook-plus-spin-514-first-acer-chromebook-with-mediatek-kompanio-ultra-processor